The first day of the rest of my life.

Today started out like a classic story of an intern’s first day, and ended feeling completely different. After arriving about 45 minutes early and sitting for 30 of those in the parking lot visualizing my first day, I walked into a huge, beautiful building, took the elevator up 12 floors, and met another planning intern, nervous like I was, waiting. After orientation, our tour of the agency was interrupted by an overhead announcement: “Attention, attention….” asking all employees to report to the stairwell. Everone happily made their way over to the large, open stairwell in the center of the agency. All 700 of us. “This feels like a really calm fire drill,” I said.

But as it turns out, the only thing burning was the agency’s collective desire to show a new client, Subzero Freezer Company and Wolf Appliance company, just how excited we all are to get the opportunity to work on the brand and have them as a client. The presentation, which took place with actors on each floor, included a spelling bee with the top marketing folks at Subzero standing right next to Stan Richards. It was truly an exciting thing to watch being it was about my second hour working there.

I soon learned that this nothing new for The Richards Group- in fact, it’s a tradition called a “stairwell.” I think this is a great idea- it brought us all together, was fun, and actually served a really important purpose especially for the client! I will always remember the feeling of standing amidst hundreds of people, leaning over the railing and watching Stan Richards introduce us all as 700 of the brightest people in the advertising business. If there was any doubt left that I wasn’t in the right place, it was at this point that it was completely eliminated.

I met my supervisor, my team, and many of the other itnerns. I couldn’t have asked for a better day.

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

One Comment on “The first day of the rest of my life.”

  1. Joe Says:

    Looking good even for work šŸ˜‰


Leave a Reply

